The College started as Rourkela Science College from 16 th August, 1961 and was taken over by Government Odisha on 01-07-1963. With the vertical academic growth of the College was
conferred with autonomous status in 2002. In the year 2002 the College was accredidated by NACC with Grade-B.

The College offer variety of Courses at different levels. Besides Art, Science and Commerce at Higher Secondary and Degree levels the College also offers Master Degree in 17 subjects and
M.Phil in 03 subjects i.e. Botany, English and Odia.

M.Sc in Computer Science, Maste in Commerce, Degree Courses in Computer Science, Electronics and Tele-Communication(ETC), Mathematics with Computer(MTC),
PGDCA, PGDCH come uner Self-finance courses.

The College also offers various Degree and P. G. level Courses under Odisha State Open University.

The College has been also provided separate Rooms for IGNOU Study Centre. As per the Circular of the Department of Higher Education Government
of Odisha the College now stands Bi-furcated in to the Government Autonomous College, Rourkela with effect from Academic Session 2001-2002.

Ironically the number of staff both teaching and non-teaching have gone-down after it was Autonomous. There by the Classes are engaged by Guest faculty who are engaged time to time.
The College has not received any UGC grant for last three years. Remuneration for non-teaching is paid from the fee collected from the students, as there is no special grant for the
Government for this purpose. This has been a hindrance in achieving our mission of academic excellence to make to make this premier Institute , a centre of quality learning by
training the students to be creative and competitive enough to face the challenges of the new millennium.